Disable all ads: upgrade to Vurchel Pro!!

Jeffrey Wright to Receive Career Achievement Award at Palm Springs Film Awards

Image: PSIFF
Image: PSIFF

Short Summary:

The Palm Springs International Film Awards will present Jeffrey Wright with the Career Achievement Award for his performance in Cord Jefferson’s American Fiction. The film is a satire on the stereotypes of Black entertainment. Wright, a versatile actor with a notable career in theatre, film, and television, will be honored on January 4, 2024, as part of the Palm Springs International Film Festival.

Jeffrey Wright, the acclaimed actor known for his versatility in theatre, film, and television, is set to receive the Career Achievement Award at the Palm Springs International Film Awards for his role in the satire American Fiction directed by Cord Jefferson. The awards ceremony is scheduled for January 4, 2024, at the Palm Springs Convention Center, sponsored by Entertainment Tonight and IHG Hotels & Resorts.

"Festival Chairman Nachhattar Singh Chandi mentioned, 'Jeffrey Wright has a prolific acting career from his Tony Award-winning performance in the Broadway production of Angels in America to his roles in HBO’s Boardwalk Empire and Westworld and on the big screen in Basquiat, The Batman, The French Dispatch, and the James Bond films,'" said Festival Chairman Nachhattar Singh Chandi.

Wright's latest film, American Fiction, explores societal stereotypes through the story of Monk, a frustrated novelist portrayed by Wright. The film also stars Sterling K. Brown, Issa Rae, Tracee Ellis Ross, Adam Brody, and Erika Alexander and is produced by Amazon MGM/Orion Pictures.

Jeffrey Wright, a Tony, Emmy, AFI, and Golden Globe Award-winning actor, made his Broadway debut in 1993 and gained acclaim for his portrayal of Jean Michele Basquiat in the film Basquiat. He is recognized for his role as 'Bernard Lowe' in HBO’s Westworld and made history as the first African American actor to portray 'Commissioner Gordon' in Matt Reeves’ 2022 film The Batman.

The Career Achievement Award adds Wright to the esteemed list of past recipients, including Annette Bening, Kevin Costner, Bruce Dern, Laura Dern, Clint Eastwood, Nicole Kidman, Sally Field, Morgan Freeman, Anthony Hopkins, Holly Hunter, Samuel L. Jackson, Spike Lee, and Helen Mirren.

American Fiction, based on Percival Everett's novel "Erasure," showcases Wright's exceptional and smart performance as an author navigating a choice between integrity and succumbing to societal stereotypes. The film promises to be a highlight of this award season.

The Palm Springs International Film Society, a charitable non-profit organization, aims to cultivate and promote the art and science of film through education and cross-cultural awareness. In addition to producing the Palm Springs International Film Festival and Film Awards, the organization hosts Palm Springs ShortFest and year-round member screenings and educational programs, furthering its mission to nurture new filmmaking talent and honor cinema masters.

Disable all ads: upgrade to Vurchel Pro!!