Dev Patel’s “Monkey Man” Leads 2024 SXSW Film & TV Festival Audience Awards

Short Summary:

The 2024 SXSW Film & TV Festival in Austin revealed its Audience Award Winners, showcasing favorites across various categories, including feature films, shorts, and XR experiences. Highlights include "Monkey Man" as the Headliner winner and "Bob Trevino Likes It" leading the Narrative Feature Competition.
South by Southwest
United States (USA)

The SXSW Film & TV Festival, held in Austin from March 8-16, 2024, has officially announced its Audience Award Winners. The festival, known for its diverse and inclusive programming across film, television, and extended reality (XR) experiences, allowed attendees to vote for their favorite screenings, culminating in a wide-ranging list of winners.

Claudette Godfrey, VP of Film & TV at SXSW, praised the event's success and the enthusiastic reception of the program by audiences. The festival featured categories such as Headliner, Narrative Feature Competition, and Documentary Feature Competition, among others, showcasing a mix of studio films, indie productions, documentaries, and innovative XR content.

2024 SXSW Film & TV Festival Audience Award Winners:

  • Headliner: "Monkey Man" directed by Dev Patel.
  • Narrative Feature Competition: "Bob Trevino Likes It" by Tracie Laymon.
  • Documentary Feature Competition: "Resynator" directed by Alison Tavel.
  • Narrative Spotlight: "My Dead Friend Zoe" by Kyle Hausmann-Stokes.
  • Documentary Spotlight: "Clemente" directed by David Altrogge.
  • Midnighter: "Oddity" by Damian McCarthy.
  • Visions: "Songs From the Hole" directed by Contessa Gayles.
  • Global: "Bionico's Bachata" by Yoel Morales.
  • 24 Beats Per Second: "Faders Up: The John Aielli Experience" directed by David Hartstein and Sam Wainwright Douglas.
  • Festival Favorite: "Sing Sing" by Greg Kwedar.

Shorts Film Program Winners:

  • Narrative Short: "Can" by Kailee McGee.
  • Documentary Short: "Frank" directed by David Gauvey Herbert.
  • Animated Short: "A Crab in the Pool" by Alexandra Myotte and Jean-Sébastien Hamel.
  • Midnight Short: "Meat Puppet" by Eros V.
  • Texas Short: "Sangre Violenta / Sangre Violeta" by Edna Diaz and Arturo R. Jiménez.
  • Music Video: "Dillon Francis - 'LA on Acid'" directed by Parker Seaman.

TV Program Winners:

  • TV Premiere: "STAX: Soulsville, U.S.A." by Jamila Wignot.
  • TV Spotlight: "Hacks Season 3 Premiere" with Lucia Aniello directing.
  • Independent TV Pilot: "Neo-Dome" directed by Bonnie Discepolo.

XR Experience Winners:

  • XR Experience Competition: "Last We Left Off" by directors Connor Illsley and Jon Riera.
  • XR Spotlight: "Emperor" directed by Marion Burger and Ilan J. Cohen.
  • Special Events: "Kiss/Crash" directed by Adam Cole.

This year's SXSW Film & TV Festival not only celebrated the creativity and innovation of filmmakers and content creators but also highlighted the importance of audience engagement in the cinematic experience. The range of winning entries underscores the festival's commitment to showcasing diverse voices and stories from around the globe.