Jury and Special Award Winners Unveiled at the 31st SXSW Film & TV Festival

Short Summary:

The SXSW 2024 Film & TV Festival announced its jury and special award winners, spotlighting exceptional films across various categories. Awards were given in Narrative and Documentary Feature Competitions, Shorts, Independent TV Pilots, Music Videos, Design, and XR Experience. Special recognitions included the Best of Texas Award, Kickstarter NextGen Award, and the Janet Pierson Champion Award.

The 31st edition of the SXSW Film & TV Festival in Austin, Texas, has officially announced the winners of its 2024 Jury and Special Awards. These awards recognize outstanding achievements in both feature films and a variety of other categories including shorts, independent TV pilots, music videos, design, and XR experiences.

South by Southwest
United States (USA)

The festival's Vice President of Film & TV, Claudette Godfrey, expressed excitement over the week's premieres and the vibrant audience participation. She highlighted the diverse and exceptional work showcased in this year's lineup. Additionally, audience awards will be determined through votes and announced later in the week.

Feature Film Grand Jury Awards

In the Narrative Feature Competition, the Jury Award went to "Bob Trevino Likes It," directed and produced by Tracie Laymon, with a Special Jury Award for Performance awarded to Maria Rodríguez Soto for "Mamifera," and another for Filmmaking to Josephine Stewart-Te Whiu for "We Were Dangerous."

The Documentary Feature Competition saw "Grand Theft Hamlet" by directors Pinny Grylls and Sam Crane win the Jury Award, while "We Can Be Heroes" by Carina Mia Wong and Alex Simmons received a Special Jury Award for Bravery and Empathy.

Short Film Competition Grand Jury Awards

"Dissolution" took home the Jury Award in the Narrative Shorts Competition, with a Special Jury Recognition going to "Trapped" by Sam Cutler-Kreutz and David Cutler-Kreutz. The Documentary Short Competition awarded "Remember, Broken Crayons Colour Too," and the Midnight Shorts Competition winner was "Transylvanie." The Animated Shorts Competition celebrated "Wander to Wonder" as its winner.

Music Video and Other Categories

The Music Video Competition Jury Award was bestowed upon "Célen - 'Mom told you so'" by director Cécile Cournelle, with a Special Jury Award for Technical Wizardry going to Joe Nicolosi for "The Burning Hell - 'All I Need'."

Additional awards included the Texas Shorts Competition, won by "Jedo's Dead," and the Independent TV Pilot Competition, where "Marvin Is Sorry" emerged victorious. The Poster Design Competition honored "7 Beats Per Minute," and the XR Experience Competition celebrated "The Golden Key" as its winner.

SXSW Special Awards

Special Awards included the SXSW Best Of Texas Award, given to "Preconceived" by directors Sabrine Keane and Kate Dumke. The Janet Pierson Champion Award recognized Kara Durrett, and the Kickstarter NextGen Award was awarded to "Family" by Benjamin Finkel.

The SXSW 2024 Film & TV Festival continues to be a pivotal platform for filmmakers and creators, celebrating the art of cinema and television through its prestigious awards.

The complete list of awarded films and achievements at the 2024 SXSW Film & TV Festival

  • Narrative Feature Competition Jury Award Winner: "Bob Trevino Likes It" - Director/Screenwriter: Tracie Laymon; Producers: Tracie Laymon, Sean Mullin, Edgar Rosa, Felipe Dieppa.
  • Special Jury Award for Performance: "Mamifera" - Performer: Maria Rodríguez Soto.
  • Special Jury Award for Filmmaking: "We Were Dangerous" - Director/Screenwriter: Josephine Stewart-Te Whiu.
  • Documentary Feature Competition Jury Award Winner: "Grand Theft Hamlet" - Directors/Screenwriters: Pinny Grylls, Sam Crane; Producers: Rebecca Wolff, Julia Ton.
  • Special Jury Award for Bravery and Empathy: "We Can Be Heroes" - Directors/Screenwriters: Carina Mia Wong, Alex Simmons.
  • Narrative Shorts Competition Jury Award Winner: "Dissolution" - Director/Screenwriter: Anthony Saxe; Producers: Thomas Lopez, Anthony Saxe.
  • Special Jury Award: "Trapped" - Directors/Screenwriters: Sam Cutler-Kreutz, David Cutler-Kreutz.
  • Documentary Short Competition Jury Award Winner: "Remember, Broken Crayons Colour Too" - Directors/Screenwriters: Shannet Clemmings, Urša Kastelic; Producers: Filippo Bonacci, Gabriel Grosclaude.
  • Special Jury Award Winner: "Frank" - Director/Screenwriter: David Gauvey Herbert.
  • Midnight Shorts Competition Jury Award Winner: "Transylvanie" - Director: Rodrigue Huart; Screenwriters: Rodrigue Huart, David Alexander Cassan, Axel Würsten; Producer: Lucie Vigier.
  • Special Jury Award Winner: "Meat Puppet" - Director/Screenwriter: Eros V.
  • Animated Shorts Competition Jury Award Winner: "Wander to Wonder" - Director: Nina Gantz; Screenwriters: Nina Gantz, Simon Cartwright, Daan Bakker, Stienette Bosklopper.
  • Special Jury Award Winner: "Bug Diner" - Director/Screenwriter: Phoebe Jane Hart.
  • Music Video Competition Jury Award Winner: "Célen - 'Mom told you so'" - Director/Screenwriter: Cécile Cournelle.
  • Special Jury Award for Technical Wizardry: "The Burning Hell - 'All I Need'" - Director/Screenwriter: Joe Nicolosi.
  • Texas Shorts Competition Jury Award Winner: "Jedo's Dead" - Director/Screenwriter: Sara Nimeh; Producers: Michael Mittelstaedt, Jeff Walker, Ellyn Church.
  • Special Jury Award: "Hair Care" - Director/Screenwriter: Fatima Wardy.
  • Independent TV Pilot Competition Jury Award Winner: "Marvin Is Sorry" - Showrunners/Screenwriters: Brett Morrow, Alex Gehrlein, Jack Gacek; Director: Clint Pang.
  • Special Jury Award: "Halfrican American" - Director/Screenwriter: Zeke Nicholson.
  • Poster Design Competition Jury Award Winner: "7 Beats Per Minute" - Designer: John Godfrey.
  • Special Jury Award Winner: "If I Die in America" - Designer: Andrei Captan.
  • XR Experience Competition Jury Award Winner: "The Golden Key" - Directors: Marc Da Costa, Matthew Niederhauser.
  • Special Jury Award: "Soul Paint" - Directors: Sarah Ticho, Niki Smit; Producer: Anna Firbank; Screenwriter: Sarah Ticho.
  • SXSW Best Of Texas Award: "Preconceived" - Directors: Sabrine Keane, Kate Dumke.
  • Janet Pierson Champion Award: Kara Durrett, President of Pinky Promise Films.
  • Kickstarter NextGen Award: "Family" - Director/Screenwriter: Benjamin Finkel.